Toy Universes

Gravity inside our minds

On Ads by Google on this blog

with 6 comments

To my surprise, while accessing this blog via my iPhone, an ad by Google entitled “Einstein was Wrong” popped-up just below the title of one of my posts. I use the free server services by WordPress to host this blog. I have searched a bit about the issue and found the answer here. Since I use the free services, I have no control over such ads. This post is just to make clear to readers that I do not directly support the contents of such ads, but since I use the free services, I will have to accept the situation. Eventually, I may choose to pay for removing the ads, but for now, I and my readers will have to live with them.

Written by Christine

December 26, 2010 at 9:27 PM

Posted in Announcements

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Wow! That’s bad, and so sad. Can’t get rid of advertising unless you PAY?! Disgusting. My sympathies.

    Come to think of it though, isn’t Peter Woit’s weblog Not Even Wrong on WordPress? I don’t recall ever seeing ads there. Hmm, actually that’s Columbia University’s website/weblog. Maybe they’re paying to keep it ad-free?

    Why don’t you e-mail and ask him?

    Steven Colyer

    December 26, 2010 at 10:22 PM

  2. I wrote a post about your predicament at my own blog, here. I hope you don’t mind.

    I think it’s important to get the word out on this horrible evil business practice of WordPress/Google. It’s almost as bad as Jimmy Wale’s pathetic “appeal” for money to keep Wikipedia going. Shameless.

    Steven Colyer

    December 27, 2010 at 1:57 PM

  3. Hi Steven,

    Thanks for your concern, and I am glad that you are interested in my new blog!

    However, I think you misunderstood me. The main point of my post on Google ads was to make an announcement that, since I was using WordPress free services, I had no control over eventual ads appearing in my blog. Just to make that clear to unwarned readers. I have not asked for help from readers on that matter! I appreciate your best intentions, but no need for campaigns!

    Thanks,
    Christine

    ccdantas

    December 28, 2010 at 8:14 AM

    • Fret not, I shall campaign no more. Think of my comments on this “issue” as middle-aged man grumpery. :-)

      But yes I understood your main complaint: content control. What WordPress et al don’t understand is all the crackpottery that exists that takes advantage of peoples’ ignorance. They have a right to make a buck, sure, but aren’t there enough people who start blogs on all manner of frivolous topics who do not mind ads that those dedicated to more serious topics such as yourself should have the option of going without, or if nit then have at least you should have veto power? Trust me, WordPress isn’t starving any more than Wikipedia is, but um, ok, that’s my last word on the subject, I don’t suspect my biatching will change anything.

      Fine then, if you want to talk shop, I don’t believe you answered my question re Kip Thorne’s Gravitation book using unconventional notation, but that can wait until after your holiday. Enjoy!

      Steven Colyer

      December 28, 2010 at 9:01 AM

      • Hi Steven,

        Yes, the main problem that I see is the lack of “veto power”, as you put it well. I do not want ads like “Einstein was wrong” with the associated crackpottery in my blog! This is very annoying! I was very irritated when I saw it, to say the least.

        Concerning your question on Thorne’s Gravitation (I suppose you mean the excellent and giant volume by Misner, Thorne and Wheeler), I thought I had already answered it back in a previous comment. In the link I mention there, you will find the following:

        Regarding the choice of − + + + versus + − − −, a survey of some classic textbooks reveals that Misner, Thorne and Wheeler (MTW) chose − + + + while Weinberg chose + + + − (with the understanding that the last sign corresponds to “time”). Subsequent authors writing in particle physics have generally followed Weinberg, while authors of papers in classical gravitation and string theory have generally followed MTW (as do most Wikipedia articles related to relativistic physics). Nevertheless, the Weinberg form is consistent with Hyperbolic quaternions, a forerunner of Minkowski space.

        I hope that answers your question. Let me know.

        Best,
        Christine

        ccdantas

        December 28, 2010 at 9:31 AM

  4. Oops, sorry, no I didn’t click on that link you provided there, but yup, that’s what I was looking for. Thanks.

    OK fine, looks like you’re a busier Bee than Bee is at the moment, so I’ll cut out for the time being, which is a good thing as I re-explore the oh-so-important subject of Tensors, thanks again. Your vacation should give me time to catch up, cool.

    I’ve always wanted to buy that book but $100+ is a bit pricey for me at the moment. Not to worry, so much on the Internet is free. The answers are out there, and we all look forward to your skulls at bringing clarity to so-called “difficult” subjects. Enjoy your holiday!

    Steven Colyer

    December 28, 2010 at 11:52 AM


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

